Board Members

In accordance with the Canby City Charter, Canby Utility is governed by a five-member Board of Directors, who are appointed by the Mayor of Canby and confirmed by the City Council. Board members are eligible to serve two consecutive, three-year terms.

Upcoming vacancy:  The City of Canby is currently accepting applications for a board member position.  The term runs from March 2021 to February 2024. Please visit the City of Canby website for details, or contact Barb Benson, Board Secretary at (503) 266-1156 x 312.

The Board meets on the second Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the conference room at the main office, located at 1265 SE 3rd Avenue. Visit the Agendas & Minutes page for information about attending board meetings.

Melody Thompson

Melody Thompson headshot
Member since April 2020. First term expires in 2023. Currently serving as Board Chair.

Todd Wagner

Todd Wagner headshot
Member since March 2016. Second term expires February 2022. Previously served two terms from March 2009-May 2015.

David Horrax

David Horrax headshot
Member since April 2019. First term expires February 2022.


Robert Hill

Robert Hill headshot
Member since March 2018. Second term expires February 2024.

Tim Gustafson

Member since March 2021. First term expires February 2024.